Radio Free ‘Murica

Haha, heyo! So I meant to post this for July 4th and then a lot of not doing that has happened. I did get this done over lunch, so that’s good. I saw Bonobo in concert last weekend, that was awesome, and I also saw Odesza as the opening act. Sandwiched in between those two was Chibo Matto, who hasn’t done anything to impress since Sean Lennon was in that band for a minute. They’ve aged well physically I guess, but that’s kind of a crappy thing to say. But when you have nothing else nice to say….

Javiera MenaEspada

Crazy music video, previously unknown latin pop act, pretty decent song- sign me up! Its also modern, this is what the cool kids in Spanish Speaking countries are listening to, so you are cool too!

Flying Lotus – Parisian Goldfish

This video will speak for itself. Hid your children. It is not new, but I remember thinking this video was the best thing a while back. I’m just bringing it back for kicks.

MMD – One.Two.Three.

I think this is J-pop, I think. It is a digital band, so there is likely a whole layer or two of genre that I’m being very ignorant of. Japanese music is never something I really got into, and if I’m going to indulge in East Asian pop, I’ll stay with the tried and true K-pop. I’m not comfortable with how I found this corner of the internet, but dear god the things some people get away with putting on youtube…

Alison Wonderland – I Want U (GANZ Flip)

The original is nice, but this is a real improvement. Good female vocals, solid engineering, the only draw back is the high-pitched baby voice. It sort of works in context, but it also seems lazy to have such a thing in a song these days.

Oliver Heldens – Gecko (Elephante Remix) Really really good electric house. Just sit there and eat it up, because it is tasty.Poom − Les Voiles A very nice french duet rock group. It sounds romantic because its in french, so it might be! Either way, very smooth and good listening, has just enough edge.

Arctic Monkeys-Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?(Clans Remix) I don’t really care for the Arctic Monkeys much, and I did not like this single very much either. But this is a good hard remix. I would say it satisfies anyone who stopped listening to dub step but sometimes wants a hard break.

Dilated Peoples – Show Me The Way feat. Aloe Blacc

I have always had a soft spot for this band. I’ve wanted them to break through into the bigger time for a while, but I have never felt that they produced a seminal song to justify it from a pure music standpoint. This is not that song, but I love Aloe Blacc and this song is really good piece. Gotta have my rap.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

